So then I started checking out the different sides of Umineko no Naku Koro ni..

With my excitement and intrigue about Umineko no Naku Koro ni anime(and also the other things related to that), I took time to take advances, read various spoilers, discussions and make a research about this awesome sauce series. Somehow, because of it’s awesomeness, even though I’m still clueless on the complete thought or premise of the story, I got really attached to it. Attached enough even to make a post about it.

You can say that post was inspired even more by the coming Umineko no Naku Koro ni anime on July 01, 2009 which is also my most anticipated series from the Summer `09 platter(of course, along with Hetalia 2, but that’s not what I’m talking about now). Gee, I just can’t wait. ^^

Many of you may have noticed the sudden fanbase for this series that made it so popular and a number have been having thoughts like, ‘Why is this show so overrated?’ or ‘What’s so good about this? Is this really good?’ but you know, if you give this a chance(I’m not saying that the anime only because we still do not know about it that much but the other media- manga & games) and see it for yourself, you might actually like it. No, I’m not in the place to say this because I’ve only read 5 chapters of the manga, some scenes(mostly in raw) of the game and seen some spoilers around the net but then again, this is just my opinion. If you can’t handle that, then I suggest you not to continue to read but you’re still free to do so, of course. :]

Which brings me to another topic.  If I’ve only seen limited stuff about Umineko then how come I liked it so much to the point of let’s say… promoting it?  Well, we all have our likes and dislikes and this happened to fall under my ‘likes’ category. You’re probably calling me an introverted hemophilic biatch right now but it’s not only the bloody gore that’s in this right? So yes, it’s not the bloody murder and stuff that’s got me crazy about this show(okay, maybe a tiny bit) but it’s really the plot/genre of this. I love mystery, especially if something’s at stake if you don’t manage to solve that mystery. lol.

Yes, I haven’t seen much but from the views that I hear from various people who’ve played the game, it’s rather interesting. Well, it’s not everyday that we get our dose of murdermystery right~? Uu~

Another reason why I am looking forward to this series is because this was from the creator of Higurashi no Naku Koro ni and God, I loved that show. It’s creepy, kind of overrated in the views of some who can’t appreciate it but meh I don’t care about what other people might think, it’s the fact that I enjoy it that makes me like it. *hmph* 😛

So what brought me to the Umineko hype? Honestly, before when I was still watching Higurashi, I couldn’t care less about Umineko meaning I didn’t know anything about it. Yep, completely clueless – except for the name of course because I kept hearing it around communities of Higurashi. Sometime around Summer or Fall 2008, I heard about the news of this being made into an anime adaptation so I made a quick research and found out it’s premise and it actually interested me.

I tried looking into screencaps and facts about the games once and was greatly disappointed by the art of the game. I’m being a critic but I’m always biased when it comes to artwork. I was having second thoughts on whether I’d be watching this on the coming Summer `09 because I still don’t know how the anime character designs would look like. A friend of mine convinced me to try out Umineko because he said that it was great despite the quality. That just goes to show that you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover.

Then as the time passed it was slowly drifting out of my mind. I mean, it’s still months away at those times..!

It was now that the fandom in me had been revived and I was really glad when I saw the character designs because they’re just right. I’m so glad I got what I wanted~Nyahahahaha~

So now that this so-called fandom for Umineko in me has been revived, what have I been doing/experience lately that’s related to Umineko? Well Here’s a few:

  • Sudden character love: I’m one who tends to have favorites in a show and even before I got to know Umineko no Naku Koro ni and all of it’s characters, I’ve already gotten my pick. If your followin me on twitter then you’d already know who that character is. If not then I’d tell you who it is – Maria-chan~ ;D So why Maria? I tend to get attached to characters who are tsundere or yandere, especially when they’re children/teens; I dunno why but it’s just that. Maria is awesome, just like how Rika Furude is. Haha [:<
  • Spreading the word to everyone: HA! This one is what I’m totally guilty for. I keep blabbering in my twitter, my private blog and even with my RL friends how much excited I am for Umineko’s anime adaptation. I just really hope that the anime won’t disappoint because I can get a wedge right now and.. *beeeeeeeeeeeeeeep*
  • Seeing a shipping already: Harharharharhar. Right now two of my shippings for Umineko would be Battler x Beatrice and of course, Jessica x Kanon. It’s like at first sight for me. I don’t know much about these people other than what I’ve seen from the manga and the other translations of Umineko’s game but they and I click. And that’s enough reason for me to like them.. so far..?
  • Reading spoilers everywhere: Gee, I just can’t help it. I love going around and looking for spoilers because I like being spoiled. I don’t like it when I have to wait and see. Those rules and I just don’t get along you know? And I mean, who couldn’t resist? *puppy dog eyes shifting*
  • Urge to make tons of banners: Of course along with the research, I’ve also been viewing images(mostly fanart) everywhere and every time I look at these cool images, I’m tempted to make banners of them for my blog!

Looking at Maria this image just makes me wanna squeal ‘OMG So cute~ <3’

So recently, I was able to read some chapters from the Umineko manga and hey, my expectations are fulfilled, I love it! Just too bad that I ended up being cliffhanged because of the lack of releases so I’m demanding for more Uuu~

Gee, I just hope that I’m not making this sound so overrated when it’s not because it’s popularity is worth it’s awesomeness. Just check it out for yourself.

Surely Umineko has some flaws of its own but totally not enough flaws to make you regret that you even tried this. And nothing is perfect right?

Also, who else other than me is excited to see this? If you are then yay we’re going to be best of friends~ >w< Gawd, this is making me `effin overjoyed. Too bad it’s still on July. D: On the other hand, I think there may be a possibility that I end up blogging this show afterall~ ;3

Will you be watching Umineko no Naku Koro ni?(survey software)
noscript>

4 Responses to “So then I started checking out the different sides of Umineko no Naku Koro ni..”


  1. 1 iCAFEsuu June 7, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    Kirapika! I’m so glad you got in to the Umineko hype! I’m overjoyed too. Totally watching it this summer. Maria IS WIN, yandere She’s the reason I got hooked on to the manga. Though, At first, I didn’t really care about Umineko, but the character designs (lolita ftw) and omg everything else , (espcially some higurashi connection, Fredrica) made me fall in love. I hate and love spoilers xD; did you the see the Umineko Motion Graphic volumes on youtube? They’re beautiful!

    Umineko is definetly not overrated, I’ve played some of the game and the plot is great. (Lots of fangirl shipping as well.) I’m glad your watching it too ^^ Looking forward to more Umineko posts!

  2. 2 Sapphire Pyro June 8, 2009 at 6:15 am

    I’ve only read a few chapters of the manga, but Beatrice and Battler haven’t interacted yet from what I’ve read. But seeing these pics/fanarts of those two make me want to ship them already *_* damn, I think I also need to research on game spoilers, etc. xD hehe

    thanks for sharing these xD I’m not yet done watching higurashi, but I’m already part of this umineko hype xD totally watching the anime =3

  3. 3 finalanimestop June 26, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Oh yeah, I can definitely get into it too. I mean, it was definitely the most “cryptic” anime this time around. I was gonna just avoid a post on that, but I decided to put a little blurb about it. All I could really say was that it was an adaption…blah blah, greenlit..blah blah, you know the whole deal. But yeah I really can’t wait till it comes out!

  4. 4 Mito July 4, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    Uhh- this’ the best summer anime that i want to watch! Keep waiting for it’s episode!


Leave a Reply

MOVED!

That's right, Hikari to Hotaru has moved to a better server:

http://fireflylights.notcliche.com

Please take your time to visit there and comment if you like. I'd love you so much if you do~ <3
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS Kirapika’s Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

